Red Beach keeps a firm grip on OC cup

8th January 2014

10th consecutive Owen Chapman Cup win for club

With its strengths across all divisions of competition, Red Beach retained the Owen Chapman Cup by one of the biggest winning margins ever seen. The points tally of 216 was well clear of the second and third placed clubs on 98 & 72 points respectively.
It was the 58th year of the event and the club claimed the trophy for the 10th consecutive time, making it a trio of 10 consecutive wins since it was first contested in 1957.  The event is the longest-running club day in Australasia for surf athletes.  Read more ...

Winners of the open women's board relay, from left: Rachel Clarke, Caitlin Ryan, Louise Aitken.                                  
Red Beach competitor Ethan Hutchinson won the U19 men's ski final.
The Red Beach Pirates surf boat crew with a leap start in one of their races. The crew went on to win both the open and U23 divisions on the day.
Down to the last three in the open men's beach flags. It was won by Red Beach's Daniel Peacocke, left.
The Flying Herons surf canoe crew had three wins from three starts and took out the open women's division. From left: Robyn Presland, Carol Gjaltema, Sarah Jenkinson, Steph Busby.
Sinead Payne competing in the U16 women's beach relay.
The Cab Savs surf boat crew in the open men's division.    Photos by Ross Malyon.