Three crews off to NZ Surf Boat Series

25th November 2015

Lyall Bay the venue for Round One of the series

Three Red Beach surf boat crews head to the capital this weekend for Round One of the NZ Surf Boat Series at Lyall Bay on Saturday 28 November.
Shane ‘Bugsy’ O’Halloran will sweep two crews – the Boomers in the open men’s division and the Pirates (U23). Shamus O’Halloran and Jed Wright will share the sweeping duties for the Bangers crew in the open women’s division. All racing will be long course.
The event at Lyall Bay is the first of two selection trials for SLSNZ representative and development teams. Crews will be considered for selection to compete against the Australians in the Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge at Shell Harbour, New South Wales on 20 February. The second selection carnival will be at Whangamata in January.
To read more on the Wellington event, click here

Dates and venues for the 4-race series are:
Round 1 – Lyall Bay, 28 November; Round 2 – Whangamata, 2 January; Round 3 – Waihi, 6 February; Round 4 – Piha, 27 February.