Big turnout for Prize Giving Night

15th May 2018


As numbers go, it was one of the biggest attendances ever seen at a Red Beach Prize Giving night.
It was a celebration of the club's many successes over the 2017-18 season and it was also an opportunity to recognise those members who were on their game in competition.
Awards for patrolling were handed out, as were numerous achievement awards.

Paul Boocock (pictured above, at right) was presented with the Best Clubman award; club coach Jack Gavin was recognised for Outstanding Achievement (Non-Competitive) while U16 athlete Patrick Makgill won the Best Achievement (Competitive) for his top results at both the Pool Champs and at surf carnivals. Kees Kramer (pictured above left) won the trophy for Contribution to Powercraft.

Scott Malyon & Harry Mellor were the joint winners of the Jubilee Trophy for Best All-Round Patrolling Member while Jon Fortes was presented with the Chris Hailwood Memorial Cup for U16 Lifeguard of the Year - Patrolling & Lifeguarding.

The Open Men's Boomers crew took out the Terry Marsh Trophy for Top Surf Boat Crew. The Boomers represented New Zealand at the Trans-Tasman Surf Boat Challenge held at Elouera Beach, NSW last February.


Kavanagh Cup               U16/U19 Sportsmanship & Club Spirit        Hamish Gledhill

Dryland Cup                   Most Improved Male U16 or U19                     Lachie Nicholls

Piper Family Cup          Most Improved Female U16 or U19               Freya Dooley

Jackson Family Cup    Most Improved Snr Man                                    Daniel Cairns           

Manion Trophy              Best Overall Board Performer                          Blake Readman                                                                                                                                            
Williams Trophy           Best Overall Ski Performer                                Blake Readman 
D F Mitchell Mem. Cup  Best Overall Ironman Performer               Kees Kramer            

Pukekauri Trophy        Top Canoe Crew                  Whales U19 Womens Crew: Georgia Parker, Olivia Falloon,Tessa Weston, Naomi Dyer


Bacon & Egg Pie Bakers Champions Tray                                      Rabbits U23 Womens Crew                                                                                                                        
O’Halloran Family Cup  Boatie Spirit of Club Award                        Jed Wright

Bugsy Cup                             Boatie Personality of the Year                   Chris Carew

Mike Smith Cup                Most Improved Female Rower                  Olivia Soesbergen  

Craig Dillon Cup               Most Improved Male Boatie                      Chase Cahalane                                                                                                    

Terry Marsh Trophy        Top Surf Boat Crew             “Boomers” Open Men’s Crew Shamus O’Halloran, Ryan Davenport, Chris Carew,
                                                                                                                                                                   Hayden Smith, Wright, Shane O’Halloran (Sweep)


Chris Hailwood                  U-16 Lifeguard of the Year                  Jon Fortes
Memorial Cup                      (Patrolling & Lifeguarding)

Jubilee Trophy                    Best All-Round Patrolling Member   Scott Malyon & Harry Mellor
Patrol of the Year Award     Top Patrol Team                                 Carnival Patrol

Nick Saull Memorial Trophy   Contribution to Powercraft         Kees Kramer

Shannon Cup                        Best Achievement, Competitive          Patrick Makgill

Colin Ash Cup                       Outstanding Achievement,                  Jack Gavin

Presidents Cup                     Best Clubman                                         Paul Boocock