Major points trophies snared by Red Beach

15th July 2018


It was a case of 'pride on the night' at the recent SLSNR Awards of Excellence function when Red Beach scooped up five major points trophies for the 2017-18 season.
The annual event, sponsored by Toyota Financial Services, was held at the upmarket Cordis Hotel on Saturday 14 July and attended by 300 guests.

The club's Junior athletes won the JuniorSurf Championships Points Trophy after coming out on top at Omaha in February and establishing a threepeat of wins.

The club's Senior athletes picked up the SeniorSurf Championships Points Trophy after running out the winners at Ruakaka, also in February.

Red Beach jointly won the Junior Competition Club of the Year trophy with Orewa. The trophy for Masters Competition Club of the Year was also won jointly with Orewa.

And for the first time ever, the Senior Competition Club of the Year trophy will have three names engraved on it; those of Red Beach, Piha and Mairangi Bay.

Hannah Turner, left, and Kate Rogers with the JuniorSurf Championships Points Trophy which was won by the club's Junior athletes for the third consecutive year. Both girls were finalists for the U14 Sportswoman of the Year award.

Red Beach took out the SeniorSurf Championships Points Trophy at Ruakaka in February 2018. Pictured, from left:  Patrick Magill, Flynn Southcombe, club coach Jack Gavin, Blake Readman, Henry Williams.   Jack was a finalist for Surf Coach of the Year.


Red Beach jointly won the Junior Competition Club of the Year trophy with Orewa SLSC.


Trophies awaiting presentation at the SLSNR Awards of Excellence Night.


The function under way at the Cordis Hotel.