Lifeguards home first in Open Water Swim

11th March 2019


Two Red Beach lifeguards took out the top awards in the club’s recent Open Water Swim.
Vaughan Skiffington, swimming without wetsuit, was the first swimmer back to the beach, posting a time of 19:58 mins to take out the Deyal Cosgrove Award over the 1.5 km distance.
Fellow club member Caitlin O’Reilly, with a time of 21:58 mins and also swimming without a wetsuit, won the Deyal Cosgrove Award for the female division.

All swimmers were obliged to swim the 1.5km distance because water conditions made it difficult to keep the marker buoys in position for the 3.0km course.
In terms of the places in which they finished, with or without wetsuit, Red Beach Rookie Jett Curteis swam home second to Skiffington with club lifeguard Hannah Turner finishing in third place. Five club members finished in the top ten spots.
Hosted by Red Beach Surf Club in conjunction with Roskill Master Swimmers, it was the 30th year of the event, attracting 46 registered swimmers.

Mindful of the safety of the swimmers, the surf club had 16 people including eight Rookies on the water on skis and boards as well as two IRB crews. The club extends its thanks and appreciation to everyone who lent a hand to ensure the safety of the swimmers.

Pictured above ... five Red Beach Surf Club swimmers were amongst the first 10 placegetters in the club's 30th Open Water Swim.  From left:  Jett Curteis, Caitlin O'Reilly, Rod Moratti, Vaughan Skiffington, Hannah Turner.

For the full set of Open Water Swim results, click here ... 1 5KM Results