Surf athlete awards : 2018-19 season

6th May 2019

Red Beach Surf Club’s
annual Prize Giving Night on Saturday 4 May attracted record numbers of athletes, parents & supporters to celebrate the presentation of awards for the 2018-19 season.
The winners of the top surf athlete awards were determined by a points system based on placings achieved at surf carnivals throughout the season, from the first Interclub events through to the NZ Championships. 
Points were cumulative in surf race, board, ski, sprint & flags competition for individual cups & trophies. In each age division, the greatest number of points gained from all disciplines determined the winners of the Champion Lifesaver awards.
Congratulations to the following …

MEN U-16                                                                              

Henry Cook Cup                                   U-16 Surf Race                                     Conor McDermott
Oliver Hobson Cup                          U-16 Board Race                                 Kalani Gilbertson
Clarke Family Trophy                    U-16 Ski Race                                       Kalani Gilbertson
Peter & Mandy Young Cup        U-16 Beach Sprint                             Angus Henare
Rowell Family Cup                          U-16 Beach Flags                                Angus Henare
Stephenson Family Cup               Champion Lifesaver Award      Angus Henare


Richards Family Cup                      U-16 Surf Race                                    Hannah Turner
Muriel Brown Memorial Cup   U-16 Board Race                                Hannah Turner
Clarke Family Cup                              U-16 Ski Race                                       Ella Butler
Kelly Piper Cup                                     U-16 Beach Sprint                             Marissa Porteous
Taylor Cup                                             U-16 Beach Flags                               Marissa Porteous
Corrigan Family Cup                       Champion Lifesaver Award      Marissa Porteous

MEN U-19

Reg Harker Cup                                 U-19 Surf Race                                     Patrick Makgill
Hoffman Cup                                          U-19 Board Race                                Hamish Gledhill
Cyril & Dorothy Walker Cup     U-19 Ski Race                                       Reuben Creighton
John Ash Cup                                       U-19 Beach Sprint                             Rowan Gjaltema
Peter Curley Cup                               U-19 Beach Flags                               - Not awarded -
Ross Malyon Trophy                         Champion Lifesaver Award      Kees Kramer


Lynn & Greg Retter Cup                U-19 Surf Race                                     Camille Small
Cambie Family Cup                          U-19 Board Race                                 Alexsia Bingley
Danks Family Cup                             U-19 Ski Race                                         Jade Hughes
Michelle Lunn Trophy                    U-19 Beach Sprint                             Freya Dooley
Browne Family Cup                         U-19 Beach Flags                                Freya Dooley
Donna Murray Trophy                 Champion Lifesaver Award       Alexsia Bingley


Paul Ranby Cup                                Snr Surf Race                                       Jack Gavin
Fagan Cup                                             Snr Board Race                                   Daniel Cairns
Pritchard Family Cup                     Snr Ski Race                                          Daniel Cairns
Jeff Frew Cup                                         Snr Beach Sprint                                - Not awarded -
Gower Cup                                           Snr Beach Flags                                   - Not awarded -
Harris Trophy                                       Champion Lifesaver Award        Daniel Cairns


Geoff Small Cup                              Snr Surf Race                                        Rachel Hare
Wilson Memorial Trophy          Snr Board race                                     Louise Aitken
Hansen & Berry Trophy             Snr Ski Race                                          Louise Aitken
Tomkinson Trophy                          Snr Beach Sprint                                Lauren Johnson
Herbert Cup                                          Snr Beach Flags                                   Lauren Johnson
Glover Cup                                              Champion Lifesaver Award      Lauren Johnson