Club Prize Giving Night : Patrolling Awards

12th May 2019

The club’s Prize Giving Night
on Saturday 4th May saw a number of lifeguards recognised for their contributions to patrolling during the 2018-19 season.

The Jubilee Trophy for Best Patrolling Member was awarded jointly to Olivia Kayes and Olivia Soesbergen, pictured above.
The Patrol of the Year Award for the Top Patrol Team was presented to Brodie Campbell, Toni Campbell, Alexsia Bingley, Peyton Bingley and Josie Cornish.
As a group they carried out a mass rescue at Pakiri during the summer and, working together, achieved an outcome which could have been very different, given the rugged surf conditions at the time and the number of people needing assistance.

The Chris Hailwood Memorial Cup for the U16 Lifeguard of the Year, awarded for patrolling & lifeguarding, went to first-year lifeguard Kate Fortes.
A special acknowledgment went to club lifeguard Sam Young who patrolled on every weekend of the surf patrol season, bar two weekends.
The evening was attended by a record number of club members, parents and supporters.