Club Prize Giving Night : Surf Boat Awards

12th May 2019

Red Beach’s surf boat rowers
were acknowledged at the club’s recent Prize Giving Night. Awards were presented as follows …

The Terry Marsh Trophy for the Top Surf Boat Crew went to the Red Beach Rabbits U23 women’s crew who won Silver medals at the NZ Championships in March in the final of the short course event. At the NRCs at Omaha in February, the crew came away with Gold medals in both the short course and long course events.
Pictured above, from left:  Olivia Soesbergen, Kathleen Oneroa, Jed Wright (sweep), Danielle Ford, Zoe Turner.

The O’Halloran Family Cup for Boatie Spirit of Club Award was presented to Olivia Soesbergen.
The Bugsy Cup for Boatie Personality of the Year went to Kathleen Oneroa of the U23 Rabbits crew. She also won the award in 2017.
The Mike Smith Cup for Most Improved Female Rower was awarded to Zoe Turner who came through her first-ever season of surf boat rowing.
The Craig Dillon Cup for Most Improved Male Rower went to Ricky Daniel-Nield in his first season rowing for the Boomers crew.

Red Beach had three crews on the water during the 2018-19 season … the Boomers in the Open Men’s division, the Muzzies in the Open Women’s division and the Rabbits in the U23 Women’s division.