Three national Open Ski Relay titles won by club

18th April 2020

Red Beach
had a healthy run of national Ski Relay titles in the 1990s. In the Open Men's division, the event was taken out by the club in 1993 at Mt Maunganui, in 1994 at Wellington's Lyall Bay, and in 1996 at Oakura Beach, New Plymouth. Scott Pritchard & Steve Richards were in each of the three winning teams.
Steve, along with current Red Beach president Mark Scheib, represented New Zealand in the 1992 Olympic Games in Barcelona in the Men's K4 1000m event.

Pictured above, the winning Ski Relay team at Mt Maunganui in 1993. From left: Scott Pritchard, Rob Ferguson, Steve Richards.

1994 Nationals, Lyall Bay, Wellington. Open Ski Relay winners, from left: Steve Richards, Rob Ferguson, Scott Pritchard.

1996 Nationals at Oakura Beach, New Plymouth. Open Ski Relay winners, from left: Scott Pritchard, Ian Ferguson, Steve Richards.

Article & photos by Ross Malyon.