Club Prize Giving : Surf Boat & Canoe Awards

18th August 2020

Red Beach’s surf boat rowers & canoeists
were acknowledged at the club’s Prize Giving Night in July. Awards were presented to the following …

The Terry Marsh Trophy for the Top Surf Boat Crew went to the Red Beach Valkyries, the U19 women’s crew who came together at the start of the season. The crew took out the Gold medal for the 2019-20 NZ Surf Boat Series in their age division.
Pictured above, from left:  Bethany Enright, Maia Young, Lyric Logotaeao-Su’a, Keeva Marinthe, Shane O’Halloran (sweep).

The O’Halloran Family Cup for Boatie Spirit of Club Award was presented to Danielle Ford.
The Bugsy Cup for Boatie Personality of the Year went to Zoe Turner of the U23 Rabbits crew.
The Mike Smith Cup for Most Improved Female Rower was awarded to Keeva Marinthe of the Valkyries U19 crew.
The Craig Dillon Cup for Most Improved Male Rower went to Jed Wright, the sweep for the Rabbits crew.
The Valkyries crew won the Bacon & Egg Pie Bakers Tray.

Red Beach had three boat crews on the water during the 2019-20 season … the Rabbits in the Open Women’s division, the Valkyries in the U19 Women’s division and the Pirates in the U23 Men’s division.  The Pirates crew had their first taste of surf boat rowing at the NRCs at Omaha in February. At the same event they paddled as the Rigs canoe crew in the Open Men’s division

The Pukekauri Trophy for the club’s top canoe crew went to the Juicies who paddled in the Open Women’s division. The award was based on the highest number of points gained from canoe competition over the course of the season.
Pictured above, from left: Dave Young (presenter of the award), Olivia Falloon, Georgia Parker, Naomi Dyer. Absent: Hannah Corkill.