Club Prize Giving : Surf Boat & Canoe Awards

23rd May 2021

Red Beach’s surf boat rowers & canoeists
were acknowledged at the club’s Prize Giving Night on 22 May. Awards were presented to the following …
The Terry Marsh Trophy for the Top Surf Boat Crew went to the Red Beach Valkyries, the U19 women’s crew who also took out the award in 2020.
Pictured above, from left:  Bethany Enright, Keeva Marinthe, Thea Stout, Gabriela Hernandez Najera, Maia Young, Shane O’Halloran (sweep).

The O’Halloran Family Cup for Boatie Spirit of Club Award was presented to Dave Young.
The Bugsy Cup for Boatie Personality of the Year went to Tobi Noble of the Red Beach Rabbits crew.
The Mike Smith Cup for Most Improved Female Rower was awarded to Bethany Enright of the Valkyries U19 crew.
The Craig Dillon Cup for Most Improved Male Rower went to Josh Young of the U23 Pirates crew.
The Valkyries crew won the Bacon & Egg Pie Bakers Champions Tray.

Red Beach had three boat crews on the water during the 2020-21 season … the Rabbits in the Open Women’s division, the Valkyries in the U19 Women’s division and the Pirates in the U23 Men’s division. 

The Pukekauri Trophy for the club’s top canoe crew went to the Red Beach Moanas who paddled in the Open Women’s division. The award was based on the highest number of points gained from canoe competition over the course of the season.
With the cancellation of both the Northern Region and NZ Championships because of Covis-19 lockdowns, no Masters events were held.
Pictured above, from left: Anita Savage, Robyn Presland, Renee Lefeber, Rachael Duff.

Article & photos by Ross Malyon